Coffee and Emirates

Hi all once again. Just recently I went overseas, and having to fly through Dubai, I  thought Emirates would be the right choice of airline. Admittedly I have had little more than adequate service from them in the past, but this time I hoped for better. That was my mistake – they made me grumpy.

Getting a cup of coffee and the meal in the right order should be that difficult, and as we soared into the air to leave Tehran behind, I was looking forward to a smooth flight. So imagine my surprise when, after waiting for a while for a meal, a member of the cabin crew arrived with coffee. ‘Would I like some?’ she asked.

‘Yes, indeed I would, but…’ I replied, pointing to the lack of meal in occuppying my tray-table, and consequently the lack of a cup to put any coffee in. Perhaps I should have offered to drink straight from the coffee pot!

‘Oh,’ she said and hurried off. Soon after, a meal appeared and she was back serving tea. ‘Any coffee?’ I asked.

‘Soon,’ she assurred me.

Sometime later the now finishd meals were still with us an no coffee had arrived. I collared a male member of the cabin crew who happened to be walking past.

‘Any chance of a coffee?’

‘I’m sorry sir, we’ve started our descent now.

‘Wonderful,’ I said, thinking at least I’d be able to change flights onto one were the service wasn’t such a shambles. I was wrong again.

On boarding my connecting Emirates flight to Perth I sat on a used dinner fork. You could say I felt a bit of a prick…but at least it didn’t pierce my skin! This did not bode well, and after an interminable wait for our meal, the crew making their way up the aisles with agonising slowness, I had an even longer wait for the meal-tray to be removed.

It must have been about 45 minutes later when I looked back down the aisle behind me and say rows upon rows of passengers contentedly sleeping with no a tray in sight. The trouble was that there wasn’t a trolley insight either, or any sign of a member of the crew. It appeared that the few rows at the front of economy class had ben deemed unworthy of having their meals collected. There were murmurings of discontent around me, so I pressed my button to summon help.

The woman that arrived looked purturbed that I was in any way unhappy that their level of service so slovenly. A trolley was produce and the meals collected.  But at least time Emirates had been organised enough to serve a coffee with my meal – I suppose that deserves some acknowledgement.

Now, really, I don’t expect a lot from airlines – just to be fed and left alone, but little things like getting a coffee can really take away from the experience. They might seem small and unimportant, but they are not.

In short, on this trip I got better service on Uzbekistan Airlines, Iran Air, and Oseman Air. I won’t list all the others that have given me better service than Emirates, the list is long, but they include Kenyan Airlines (best meal I’ve ever had in the air), Mongolian International Airlines, Druk Air, and even Qantas. Suffice to say, next time my wife and I will be flying Singapore Airlines if at all possible.

I’m still grumpy about this two weeks after the event.

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

Leave a Reply

