Sunrise in the Desert

Today I went to see Samsara – I thought that it would be enjoyable. And a great deal of it was, but there was something missing. It’s not that I through I was preached at, although some parts were incredibly close to that (and I hate being preached to), but I thought that there was a lack of depth to the visuals. I was left cold by the views of the temples in Burma and sand dune in Namibia, just like watching a slide show. I really did enjoy the dancing at the end (Thai, I think), and the dancers in the Phillipines prison, but that was too little for me to recommend the movie. I feel quite bad about this, but it ust didn’t gel with me – I wanted to like it.  However, that shot of the Namibian desert did remind of something I wrote when I was once out in the Australian desert…

 

Sunrise

 When I thought about the list of small things that make life great, sunrise was up there staight away. The begining of a new day is always special – if you see it it means that you are still alive, and that has to be good. It’s also the start of a new adventure…what is going to happen? If you are awake when the sun rises then take some time to watch it without distraction wherever you may be. Use all your senses.

I spent a good 6 months in the Kimberley region living out of a swag and sleeping under the stars back in the early 90s and sunrise was the most magical time of day – it was serene. I might use this extract from a novel that I am writing (that may never be finished, but still, I enjoy writing it).

Sunrise in the Australian bush is of one the most beautiful experiences. If this is not something you have seen, please let me describe it for you in some more detail. Imagine that you have just opened your eyes…

It is cool, even cold.

The sun still rests below the horizon but the sky is already a soft blue colour infused with white.

It is perfectly still; faded green leaves hang limp.

There is a sweet smell in the air, a cool damp aroma that comes from the vegetation. It’s as if someone has doused the country with air freshener. Condensation clings to leaves and the makes the soil moist underfoot; it also carries the smell into your nose. The chorus of birdcalls that greeted the first light of dawn some half an hour ago has ceased.

There is only silence.

This is as peaceful as it gets anywhere in the world, as serene as you can be.  Soon the sun’s rays will hit your swag and make any further rest unbearable, just as they had this morning, and you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to experience this again. So drink it all in and feel your muscles and mind relax. Just feel the serenity…

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

Leave a Reply

