Another poem… On the Train to Stafford (OMG)

On the Train to Stafford (OMG)

While the Leicestershire countryside
ambled by the window
(Oh my god!)
it’s lush green hues and rolling hills
sparkling in the sun’s glow
(Oh my god – no!)
beneath old church spires reaching
up into an azure sky
(Oh. My. GO-OD! You’re kidding?)
that soared above thatched roofs of quaint
villages that passed on by
(OH MY GOD! OH MY GOD!)
I thought about the peace and quiet
that made these journeys such
(No! No! No! OH-MY GO-OD!)
a pleasant memory of my youth
before the advent of touch
(EEIIUUW!!! Oh my-god)
screens and mobile phones on trains
to distract from scenic country lanes
Omigod! Omigod!
Oh my god!

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

4 Responses to Another poem… On the Train to Stafford (OMG)

  1. Iris Orpi says:

    Smashing. Lovely. It made me smile, and I somehow shared the vivid experience with you, along with the giddy breathlessness and bounce. Heh. 🙂 It somehow reminded me of Alicia Keys’ poem “Beckoning Green” when she tried to describe traveling via train from Madrid to Barcelona and was struggling to give the color an apter name. 🙂

  2. bejamin4 says:

    A clever title and format. I really like the use of parentheses.

Leave a Reply

