Time for a Quick One?

Yes…I am a bit short of inspiration at the moment, but just for the record I have now set up my author’s page which showcases my publications  www.georgefripley.wordpress.com . Details of my 3 current books, shortly to be 4 are included.

And just to be going on with, a short poem

Somewhere in the Desert looking for Gold

From my point upon the hill,
I gaze upon the land and fill
my cup with water as I ponder
the next direction I must wander.
Over there, north-east I think,
which will bring me to the brink
of yet more of these blasted ridges
up which I’ll climb and dream of fridges
stacked with tempting ice-cold beer.
Perhaps I’ll go insane this year?

In this hot and dusty region
too hostile for the Foreign Legion
there’s no-one else, there’s only me
with mad dogs for good company
and nothing but the desert’s song
to send me nuts before too long,
run naked through these open spaces
sunburnt in my tender places.

But the desert’s voices keep me sane,
advising me to not complain,
and jump right off reality’s train,
dance in this imaginary rain.

 

 

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

Leave a Reply

