Never before have so many political parties offered so little substance to so many.

I got grumpy today. And it was politicians that made me so grumpy.

Yes, today I wandered down to my local polling station and then wondered! Yes, I wondered who the fuck to vote for. Never before have so many parties offered so little substance to so many.  It’s all about ideology and nothing shits me more than politicians mindlessly following an ideology, or even just jumping onto plain opportunism over  common sense. And yet this is what was out before me.

Once I’d given fuck-off-and-die looks to all of those idiots handing out how to vote cards – why would I want to be a mindless drone following a party line? – I got the voting paper. 77 boxes to number, or just put one in the box of a party,  and then my vote would go wherever that party chose to put it. Well, I can tell them just where to put their preference deals – they can shove them up their arse! I get really frustrated that numbering multiple boxes seems so hard for voters. It takes 5 minutes and then your vote goes where you choose it to go. If you’re so friggin’ apathetic that you can’t do this, then don’t complain when some party gets in that you would never vote for in a million years – you might have helped put it there.

Anyhow, I thought to myself about who to vote for and then it came to me. At least the first 5 or 6 of my 77 I would vote for in terms of what I thought of individuals – not their political parties. This seemed fair enough. No voting for party hacks who mindlessly do what their ideologically driven head office wants. This means that my preferences were all over the place, and the vote counters won’t like it as it makes their jobs more difficult, however I reckon a lot of people will have done this today. It’s all part of our Hair-brained system of voting.

Enough of my ranting – I voted and I’m happy that I did it my way. Now it’ll only be another 2-3 weeks before we know the result!

 

And as there has to be something useful to come out of this otherwise disappointing day,  I’m now going to blatantly self-promote my book More Gravy Please! (the definitive politician’s handbook). It contains all you could possibly want to know about managing a life in politics including the mysteries of Mutually Assured Distraction, Viral Ignorance, Manic Irrelevance Syndrome, and much more. Available from Amazon.com (where else?)

More Gravy Please !

 

Cheers

George

 

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

Leave a Reply

