5 From Bruce Springsteen

What can I say about the Boss! Probably nothing that hasn’t already been said. So I won’t bother with too much, other than that this man is an awesome songwriter and performer. If you want texture, stories, and downright genius, then you need to listen Springsteen’s songs. I have chosen my own five and no debate will be entered into, unless I feel so inclined.

1.  I’m on Fire – this song gives me chills. The restrained lust and desire that comes across in this short masterpiece just leaves me in awe. Moody and magnificent. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xzQvGz6_fvA

2. The River – a song from the early eighties. I just love this song. It’s a great story. This is an all-time classic and ranks up among the best songs I have ever heard. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAB4vOkL6cE

3. Born to Run – Let’s go back to 1975. Yes, a song about getting away from the chains of life. This is a classic. Frankie Goes to Hollywood covered it well, but nobody does it better than The Boss http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3t9SfrfDZM

4. Badlands – I heard this first when  got the Springsteen box set Live 75-85, and this is the very same version. An anthem if I ever heard one. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZMEjaTV8e8

5. Cover Me– I’m running out of adjectives – this is a wonderful song that hits the just the right tone. A bit of anthem, a bit of long song, a bit of great rock music. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dkaSxmvZnGs

 

That’s my 5 songs – there are heaps to choose from, and If I chose 5 again, then they’d probably be slightly different.

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

Leave a Reply

