Phone fixations – the grumpy commuter is back

I’d just like to let my grumpy alter-ego have a word.

I am getting fed-up with seeing zombies walking around transfixed by their phones. It’s almost as though they can’t for one minute not be looking at their screens – as if something might happen between the bus and the office, the two minutes that it takes to walk from the café to the car. They wander around with no eye on the surrounding world, oblivious to ‘actual’ life, instead intent on the virtual universe. I am getting really worried one of them will one day walk into the road, into a wall, or even off a cliff!

Is it too hard to ask that they look where they are going instead of walking into me and then looking surprised that I didn’t remove myself from their pre-ordained and sacred path?

So there, I am grumpy again…life sometimes does that to you.

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

4 Responses to Phone fixations – the grumpy commuter is back

  1. markbialczak says:

    How do they have anything to text about, George?

    • That is a very good question Mark – I shall turn my thoughts to it and provide a plausible answer in the foreseeable future. But in the meantime, perhaps they text about wanting to have something to text about!

      • markbialczak says:

        I think the texting loop may go:

        Am I more boring or are you more boring?

        I don’t know. What did you do last night?

        Nothing? How about you?

        Nothing. Going out tonight?

        No. You?

        No. See you later?

        No. Bye.

        Bye.

  2. atempleton says:

    I completely agree with you!

Leave a Reply

