Dealing with a bad reference…

This is a different sort of post.

I’ve been thinking about things. You tend to do that when you’ve been put in the position of applying for your job and your boss seems reluctant to be a referee. Something stinks just a little bit.

I tried drinking a bottle of wine – and it was great wine – a West Cape Howe Cabernet Merlot (just spectacular). This helped, but did require at least 4 Panadols the next day to get me through. Nobody seemed to notice. Was that a good thing?

Anyhow, my boss asked me if I still wanted to be my referee -and I said, ‘Yes I do.’ I mean, at least her views will have to be in writing and then I can address them. So far, it seems to be that there is just verbal undermining. Well, once it’s all in writing, then I can take her to task on what she’s said, and also get everything out in the open. This seemed to make her uncomfortable; I hope it did. I think that if your boss is going to shaft you, then they should be uncomfortable, or at least take responsibility for potentially taking your income away. They should not be able to hide behind backroom chats and whispers. Be assured that I will be requesting a copy of my references and will see what is written.

In a perverse sort of way I think it will be cathartic – and a way to deal with the stress.

So, soon I hope I will hear about whether I have made the cut, and then I will be able to move on and either carry on with my job or get another one.

There it is. Putting it down in words is very calming.

George

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

Leave a Reply

