Get your stuff out there!

I’ve recently been thinking about what I do as a hobby – hobbies, actually. I write and also play music. I get great joy out of these past-times and have finished numerous projects, but recently I have realised a crucial point. There needs to be an end point in what I do, and that end point is not completing the manuscript or song – no, it goes further than that, at least for me. I have to get them published in some form or another.

I have been fortunate that a publisher did put out two of my books, although unfortunately that publisher has ceased to trade (not because of my books I hasten to add). Since then I have self-published a couple of books, and will soon be self-publishing the first two to keep them available.

Now, you may ask, why would I go and do this? Good question. Other than a likely need to be seen, it is the only way that I feel a writing project is complete. Finishing the manuscript does not cut the mustard for me – it has to see the light of day somewhere.

So, you may ask, shouldn’t you try a publisher first? The answer is, of course, if that is what you want to do. After all, a publisher can give you publicity that most self-published authors can only dream about. And I can tell you that I have two manuscripts that are now doing the rounds of the publishers. I will probably give that process a year or so. However, if it appears that this will not be successful, I will self-publish them, because then they are finished, out there to be found not mouldering away in my study or taking up space on my computer for no reason.

I am also writing songs, and hopefully this year is when I will put one or two out there into the ether on the net for general consumption.

And the reason for this? Well, I am an eternal optimist, and you never know what the future will bring. If you put your work out there, then at least people can see / hear it. Sure, you may get some criticism or unwanted opinions, but so what! If you hide your work away for fear of ridicule, then you surely will not succeed.

So put it out there if you have it. Really, what is there to lose.
Go for it.

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

One Response to Get your stuff out there!

  1. bejamin4 says:

    Yes, I totally agree with you. There is nothing to lose. Even if you get nothing out of it you never had anything from it to begin with. Might as well take the chance and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

