Vasse Felix is Heaven on a Plate

I don’t often write about food, but for the Vasse Felix restaurant I have made an exception. This is a gorgeous winery in the Margaret River region – famous for it’s world class wine. Vasse Felix does a wonderful selection – my favourite being the Cabernet Merlot, although the Sauvignon Blanc Semillon is also a stand out for me.

But to the food – the glorious food. I should have got a copy of the menu of the day, but here goes from memory. I started with the scampi (raw I think – but I’m no expert) which was accompanied with a sort of salad. This took me right to the pearly gates – in a good way! The main course was lamb off the bone which just dissolved in my mouth accompanied by enough vegetables to enhance he experience, but not too many to take away from the lamb. I was definitely in heaven. Then, oh then, there was the dessert. It was a rich chocolate, with cardamon sponge, a delicious ice-cream, and passionfruit – and then I realised that I had scored a time-share in heaven. The staff were knowledgeable and vivacious, the wine was it’s usual excellent self, and the setting, overlooking the creek lined with tall eucalypts on one site and the vines on the other, snuggling under a blue sky, was perfect. And the price was very good – no complaints from me after that meal.

Full marks for Vasse Felix. It’s been 5 years since I ate there (that was the best meal I have had, at least up until now) and it will certainly not be 5 years until I return. This has to be one of the best restaurants in Australia.

Eat there – that’s an order!

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

Leave a Reply

