A very short story

Mrs McCluskey’s Memories.

 

The wind howled through the deserted town, stirring up clouds of dust, eddying through and around empty verandas, rattling windows now cracked and broken; suffering from the ravages of time’s relentless and merciless hand. A ghost town it would seem at first glance around the derelict and neglected streets now covered in weeds and dust, overlooked by old Mrs McCluskey still clinging on to the company of her memories and still happy in this isolated land.

She told me how this town had changed so quickly from being in its prime as a thriving noisy mining town, the centre of commerce for miles around, with its main street packed every Saturday and lively pub with an entertaining band. She told me how there had been mines nearby, about three she thought, pointing to overgrown mounds looking just like hills, but really old and weathered waste dumps left as the only reminder, other than the flooded pits above which they now stand.

She told me of all the wheeling and dealing and gambling and girls; excitment on at all hours of the day and night in her pub, or so she called it, though it sounded particularly sordid to me. I could see the light in her eyes, shining as vividly as the gold for which she’d once panned. I left Mrs McCluskey sitting on her veranda content with her vivid memories, and I left that virtual ghost town behind me, but as I drove away that morning, I couldn’t help but wonder how long it would be before Mrs McCluskey and the town disappeared forever beneath the shifting desert sand.

 

 

 

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

Leave a Reply

