Something different…

Today I saw Omar Musa read a passage from his book Here Come the Dogs at the Perth Writers’ Festival and he inspired me to write this in between sessions. No idea what made this pop into my head, but there you go…sometimes you have to write what comes to mind no matter how random – thanks Omar

Waves

There’s a storm assaulting me, an angry sea of green, it’s just mean, pushing me around, to the ground, but I rebound, move to the beat of my own sound. I like to feel the waves crash into me, their brutality, they’ve built my personality.

Some smash themselves to pieces in a rage, in vicious scenes, these self-destructive drama queens; some just hit with steady rhythm, a constant stream, a non-stop shove, from them, out of sight, unseen.

Some sneak up with hidden force, try to dump me, with casual malicious glee, then slink away so silently, watched by those that ease themselves to shore, basking in the sun, while in the name of fun, take random shots at me.

Nothing stops these waves, relentless, crushing the defenceless, but I resist, I am a rock, a solid piece of this earth, I know my worth, I’ve carved my place out, marked my turf. Yes I am a rock, standing in the undertow, taking all that they can throw at me, those waves that try to steal my self-belief, like thieves with menaces, but let them try ‘cos I’m a rock,  I bend the storm around me, all those waves and wind that batter me, they set me free, ‘cos I’m a rock that grew in adversity, so bring it on, I dare you.

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

Leave a Reply

