A little poem about politicians!

Vote, damn you, vote

Sometimes I ask myself why?
Why do I bother to vote
when democracy condemns us
to yet more politicians
who do the bidding of their paymasters
those fundamentalist bastards who
spew bigotry and fear
as ways to try to control us
to mould us
to chain us down.

They sign away our freedoms
in the name of, well, freedom,
held to account by pretend journalists,
just paid apologists who confuse
advertising with news
as the powers-that-be tighten
the thumbscrews,
to beat us down
to kill defiance
to rob us of self-reliance.

Yeah,

some days I ask myself
why I bother to vote,
to believe that it makes a difference,
that it’s not just wilful ignorance
that I’m not some brainwashed idiot
debasing myself
frustrating myself
defrauding myself,
but what is there, if not hope,
so vote, damn you, vote
for a change.

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

2 Responses to A little poem about politicians!

  1. Blair King says:

    I love the structure of this, as well as the message. I also, at times, believe that there is no chance of change, that democracy is nothing but a parody of people pretending to make things better. But if I allow myself to think that way, and if others did too, then of course no change would ever be made. Voting, as pointless as it sometimes seems, is important. It’s really up to use to make a difference, and if we give up, well… who knows what this country will become.
    Great post!

    • Many thanks for the comment Blair – politics is, unfortunately, giving us all much inspiration when it comes to writing. I hope they improve, but I’m not holding my breath

Leave a Reply

