Writing a novel – progress made!

No poems or music today. Today I want to relay my experience in writing one of the novels I am working on. I finished it, or so I thought, three years ago and foolishly sent it out to agents. They all gave me less than encouraging responses, if indeed they responded at all.

I picked it up again about 6 months ago and on reading it realised that although the bones of the story were still good, there were so many holes in the plot, too much rubbish in between the good writing, and some good writing and great lines that were simply surplus to the story (they added nothing, just took up space).

I spent sometime noting down what I thought needed to be done and then went on to reading some books for no other reason than to give my brain a break from the story. I spent some time writing some songs and music as well. Then I went back to the book and began to re-write it during which time I have found more holes.

Rather than be disappointed about this I have found it very liberating and motivating because I think the story can only be improved.

And many thanks to John Harman, Stephen King, Garth Nix, Peter Temple and Phillip K Dick for their assistance in getting to this point. Their writing, in most cases, and verbal advice in one, has been very useful.

 

 

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

One Response to Writing a novel – progress made!

  1. Let me know if you are looking for promotion help for the novel! I now am promoting books through my blogs! Check out this link https://aopinionatedman.com/book-promotion-terms/ if you are interested!

    Jason

Leave a Reply

