Two weeks to write, write, write…or possibly write-off

Okay…two weeks off to do some serious writing and rewriting work. List of jobs is long and now I have another story in my head competing for space. And then there’s the guitar calling to me as well. And twitter. And that 6 pack of 150 Lashes in the fridge. I’m serious, I can hear them calling. And then there’s the Perth Writer’s Festival – I should pop along there and learn something…but only if there is time in my busy schedule of writing avoidance tasks. Does the oven need cleaning? I think so. I’m sure something needs painting too. And maybe it’s time to fix that annoying leak above the kitchen window (this is maybe something I really should do).

Okay, so Task 1 – avoid getting stuck into writing avoidance

Task 2 – have a beer to think about what writing project should be my first priority Langoria or the new story. Langoria is at second draft stage – that’s hard work. Perhaps another beer will get me through that. What was I doing again?

Task 3 – unplug the TV. But only after watching the accumulated crap that I’ve not yet watched. If I’ve not watched it it is probably crap, but how will I know until I’ve watched it?

Task 4 – check twitter and email. Perhaps I’ve been discovered and an offer of riches is waiting for my attention from a salivating agent. Stop laughing it could happen.

Task 5 – check and recheck my lotto tickets. I could be a millionaire and then I could write more. Possibly drink more too. Maybe it’s time to start writing, but only after a snooze.

Task 6 – return to work having wasted two weeks of my valuable time having made about a chapters worth of progress in each project. At least they pay me…and I’m not going to starve.

I think I need another beer…

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon)

Leave a Reply

