Early Onset Grump

Early Onset Grump

I’m not yet fifty, not yet forty-five,
but I grumble – a lot,
see youngsters transfixed by cheap rubbish,
well, expensive rubbish,
actually.

They stare at glowing screens, oblivious,
just useless lumps of flesh
that shuffle, heads down, mumble some language,
unintelligible.
I ask you!

They have the attention spans of goldfish,
random thoughts, strange fashions,
an inflated sense of entitlement;
they’re always wanting more,
for nothing.

Yes, I suffer from Early Onset Grump, but
they’re rude, and worse than that
their young bodies don’t creak and groan like mine,
they smile and laugh a lot –
the bastards!

About George Fripley
I am a writer who enjoys writing humour, satire, poetry and sometimes a bit of philosophy. I live in Perth, Western Australia and occasionally get a poem or article published. It's all good fun! I have two books available for unwary readers, Grudges, Rumours and Drama Queens- The Civil Servant's Manual (This contains all that anybody could ever want to know about why government runs so slowly) and More Gravy Please! - the Politician's Handbook. (available through Amazon). Real name Peter Tapsell...just started off writing under a pseudonym and kept going.

Leave a comment